April 17th, 2008

Is Psystar’s Mac Clone Just a Scam?

psystaropencomputer.jpgBy Michael Santo
Editor-in-Chief, RealTechNews

You’ll recall the Mac clone maker Psystar, which not only says it can sell you a computer, it says it will install Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) on it as well. Which not only violates the Mac OS X EULA, it also requires tweaks to do it.

It sounds too good to be true, doesn’t it? And many times, if something sounds too good to be true …

At any rate, it’s strange that the company seems to have moved three since their announcement. Perhaps, as they indicate on their website, it was just a site error, but they started at 10645 SW 112th St. in Miami, then changed their contact info to 10481 NW 28th St., then to 10471 NW 28th St., and now they’re at 10475 NW 28th St. Unfortunately, no Google Street View of that address.

Either they have a really bad webmaster or something’s fishy.

Both the Guardian and Gizmodo have done some poking around, and nothing seems all that positive in terms of investing your hard-earned money with these guys.

  • The address problem (though admitted to as an error in an interview with Tom’s Hardware).
  • They can’t take orders by phone (see their site).
  • They either have a really bad phone system or no one’s there.
  • No response to emails.
  • The principles are Rodolfo and Roberto Pedraza, who are officers or agents on a whole host of companies, only one of which, besides Psystar, appears in operation (FloridaTek). Oh, and if you click on the “Remote Desktop Technical Support” link on the upper LHS of the page you get an .EXE download - which I wouldn’t trust.

So, is this deal just “rotten to the core?” Can’t be sure yet, but it’s so fishy I’d be worried about mercury poisoning. Stay clear of this company until further notice.

Share and Enjoy:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • del.icio.us
  • digg
  • Fark
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • YahooMyWeb
You can leave a comment, or trackback from your own site. RSS 2.0

4 comments to "Is Psystar’s Mac Clone Just a Scam?"

  1. Rodolfo Pedraza Sr. says:

    Floridatek is a company owned by the father of Rodolfo Pedraza jr who owns Psystar and neither one of us is a hoax as you state in your comments. About the remote desktop on Floridatek website well what now am I also bogus? please give me a break!

    April 17th, 2008 at 10:08 am

  2. Sub-Nav says:

    It’s rotten to the core. With VoIP these guys can be taking press calls from Brazil. If the money isn’t heading straight to Nigeria, my guess is that everyone who has ordered one will find dozens of bogus credit card transactions on their bills in a few weeks.

    I once tried to buy camera equipment at a place that seemed way more legit than these guys do. When they told me it was an extra $200 for a warranty and it would take 4 weeks to get the item, I cancelled. Four weeks later, Euro-rail passes, plane tickets and Paypal transactions flooded my cc.

    99 to 1 this is fraud or identity theft.

    April 17th, 2008 at 10:14 am

  3. Alice says:

    Phoney!

    April 17th, 2008 at 3:48 pm

  4. John B says:

    It should be fairly simply for someone to visit their address(es) and give a definitive answer. Surely, at least one of your readers lives in Miami!

    April 19th, 2008 at 5:16 am

Leave a comment